The end of #100ItalyFacts + the latest Instagram campaign

Dear friends,

my challenge about the #100ItalyFacts was completed almost one month ago and after that, I worked on making a collection of said “facts” that I linked here. The lovely Manja kindly reminded me that I shared it on social media, but I didn’t write a blog post about it, so here you are the announcement.

In the meantime I have also completed another “Instagram campaign”: “Prealpine  Contradas“. As I mentioned to the people who follow me there, the contradas at the foothills of the Venetian Prealps are small rural villages surrounded by woods and where people entertain a slow-paced kind of existence. I guess you can say it’s a good example of the typical Italian way of living 😉 I plan on writing about these fascinating realities also in here, keep following the blog if you’re interested.

As for now, here you are the last ten days of the #100ItalyFacts. Enjoy!

#100ItalyFacts [day93]: it is often said that the best Italian literature of the 20th century was born in the #trenches. 📄 📓In fact several authors of the first half of that century fought in the army during #WW1 and they found themselves writing stuff during the pauses between battles, as to report immediately and describe the sense of horror of what they were witnessing. Especially authors like #Ungaretti, #Rebora and #Gadda used to do that. ▶ Sadly, lots of these works haven't been translated in foreign languages 😢, but if you want to have an idea about what it meant fighting in the Italian trenches during the First World War, read the memoire "A Year on the High Plateau" (Un Anno sull'Altipiano) by Emilio #Lussu. If you want to check out poetry of war, read "The Buried Port" by Ungaretti. #italy #italianliterature #italianlanguage #italianculture #italians #whatitalyis #whatitalywas #history #war #travel #travelgram #instatrip #instatravel #tourism #explore #blogging #travelblog #italianblogger #nature #frontline #traveltrip #travelandlife

A post shared by 🌪 SaRA 📸 (@fka_sara) on

#100ItalyFacts [day95]: in #Italian "rainbow" is called "arcobaleno", which is a word basically formed by 'bow' + 'flare'. It is probably a metaphorical word used to indicate "a bow that appears suddendly like a flare". Others believe that it is connected with the cult of the celtic god Beleno, which was also present in Italy. 🌈💧 Popular beliefs state that you should not point at a rainbow, otherwise your finger "gets sick".😱 #rainbow #arcobaleno #rainyday #colours #italy #italianlanguage #italianculture #customs #nature #naturelovers #natureloversgallery #blog #travelblog #blogger #travelblogger #travel #travelgram #instatravel #instatrip #browsingitaly #whatitalyis #tourism #italians #instapassport #exploreitaly #ig_italy

A post shared by 🌪 SaRA 📸 (@fka_sara) on

#100ItalyFacts [day96]: #Italians are said to be "a people of poets, saints and seafarers", but other than experts on sea, I would say they are also excellent mountain connoisseurs. This is the result of having such a varied environment in the country 😊🏖🏔 Italians have had great results in mountaineering (here called "alpinism") and people like Reinhold Messner (South Tyrol), Riccardo Cassin and Walter Bonatti (Lombardy) are listed among the greatest of all the times 👑 #italy #mountain #mountaineering #alpinism #housedecor #italiantown #italianvillage #browsingitaly #whatitalyis #house #italian #ig_italy #mountains #travel #travelgram #instatravel #instapassport #instatrip #traveltrip #travelandlife #blog #travelblog #tour #painting #art #housedecoration

A post shared by 🌪 SaRA 📸 (@fka_sara) on

#100ItalyFacts [day97]: there's a weird myth that it's spreading around in some countries about the possibility of visiting one of Christopher Columbus' caravels in Genoa. Well, NO ❎ Christopher Columbus was indeed a citizen of the Republic of Genoa, but his voyage to the Americas was supported by the Monarchs of Spain and he left from Palos de la Frontera (Spain). I also think there's literally nothing left of those ships 😅 so don't believe in those rumors!😶 Columbus contributed, however, to spread the fame of Italians as "people of seafarers", as I was telling you yesterday 🌅 Among the most famous Italian seafarers and explorers we can enlist Columbus, Amerigo Vespucci (the one who gave his name to America) and Giovanni da Verrazzano (like the bridge in New York, yes) ⛵ [In the pic a miniature of La Pinta, one of Columbus'caravels] #italy #whatitalyis #whatitalywas #ship #souvenir #bricolage #homedecor #columbus #caravel #sea #ig_italy #travel #traveltrip #travelgram #blog #blogger #italianblogger #travelblog #travelblogger #tourism #explore #exploremore #famousitalians #italians #learn #learnmore #decorations

A post shared by 🌪 SaRA 📸 (@fka_sara) on

#100ItalyFacts [day98]: today I wanted to dedicate a post to the #Italian #arts by sharing some info about one of our greatest talents: #EleonoraDuse 🌹 Eleonora Duse is considered by many the greatest actress of all the times and a true piooner in the acting world 🎭🎦 In an age in which characters were portrayed in a very emphatic and grandiloquent way, #Duse was the first to apply the principle of "eliminating the self" and truly becoming the character, inspiring also Stanislavskij in theorising his famous "system". She was said to be extraordinarily expressive and able to enchant the masses of all the world even if she only acted in Italian. To quote Chaplin, who once saw her in a play:"There was no trace of histrionicism; her voice came from the ashes of a tragic passion. I didn't understand a word, but I realized I was in front of the greatest actress I had ever seen". #italy #acting #actress #theatre #doodle #drawing #draw #charcoal #charcoaldrawing #whatitalyis #whatitalywas #italians #italianarts #art #blog #blogging #blogger #italianblogger #browsingitaly #explore #exploreitaly #travelandlife #travel #travelgram

A post shared by 🌪 SaRA 📸 (@fka_sara) on

#100ItalyFacts [day99]: as I have already said in a previous post, in #Italy there are several #dialects, wrongly indicated even by us as "Italian dialects". In reality these local dialects are to be considered as #languages at all effects. Those in Italy who still preserve and speak a local dialect are, as a matter of fact, diglossic speakers 🗣 #Diglossia is a particular condition in which a community commonly uses two languages: one for the everyday life for ordinary conversations (in our case our local dialects) and one for the formal situations (in our case Italian). Since Italy as a unified country started to exist only in recent times, local dialects have resisted for long. Only in the latest years a recession has been noticed, as the majority of the parents have started to teach their kids only the Italian language because it's easier and also because dialects are generally considered "uncool"(if I have to be honest, I have also noticed a tendency of the teachers in discouraging parents in talking the dialect to kids). This is a pity, because, as a diglossic speaker myself, I think Italian and dialects can totally cohexist and that switching between the two languages can also be a great exercise for the mind. In neglecting our dialects, we also put a stop to a particular culture and a literature and this is sad 😟 ➡ In the pic an example of local literature written in my own dialect, the so-called "central Venetian". #italians #venetian #literature #poetry #learn #learnmore #explore #exploremore #exploreitaly #whatitalyis #browsingitaly #blog #blogging #blogger #italianblogger #travelblog #travelblogger #travelandlife #makeheritage #travel #travelgram #instapassport #instatravel #inspiration #inspirational

A post shared by 🌪 SaRA 📸 (@fka_sara) on

#100ItalyFacts [day100]: I DID IT GUYS!❤ I posted everyday for 100 days 💪 I want to conclude this series listing the several ways you can say #ThankYou in #Italian: ✴ "Grazie mille" (one thousand 'thank yous'); ✴ "Grazie infinite" (infinite 'thank yous'); ✴ "Grazie tante" (thanks a lot). Consider all these "thank yous" directed to you, guys!😘😍 This has been an amazing journey that has allowed me to get to know great instagrammers, but most importantly amazing PEOPLE. I hope you enjoyed this experiment: sometimes pics weren't super-glamourous, but I'm proud nonetheless as they are all mine (the only exception, the first page of the Constitution for obvious reasons) and that all the captions were elaborated by me and not copied from the Internet. I hope you enjoyed my approach slightly out of the ordinary and that you could learn something useful and different from the common Italian cliches. As you probably have realized, it's impossible to cover a layered country like #Italy in 100 days and for this reason I don't exclude the possibility of doing this challenge again in the future 😆 Check out this profile tomorrow/on Friday to discover how to find the complete collection of the facts and to learn what's in store for this profile in the near future. Did you think to get rid of me?! I'll just make a little pause, then I'll begin with another project I'm very passionate about ❤❤ Thanks again for all the support guys, ciao!🙋😘 #italianlanguage #grazie #Italians #blog #blogging #blogger #italianblogger #learn #learnmore #explore #exploremore #italianculture #whatitalyis #bye #learning #travel #travelgram #makeheritage #instatravel #instatrip #instapassport #speaking #speakingitalian #speakitalian #speak

A post shared by 🌪 SaRA 📸 (@fka_sara) on

12 thoughts on “The end of #100ItalyFacts + the latest Instagram campaign

  1. Ah, thank you for linking to me. 🙂 I’m glad I spurred you on to bring your project to a close on your blog as well. It was incredibly eye-opening and I learned so much about my new-chosen country.

    In this last part I find most interesting when you say that parents do not use the dialect with children any more, or at least not as much as before. This is the closest Italians come to speaking two languages! This must continue!! (Teasing a little, I know that many Italians speak other languages too, contrary to what people might believe, and you are the proof.)

    I hope that you will present your new project on your blog as well. Out of all social media, I follow other people’s blogs the closest.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad it was useful! ❤ My goal was to share facts which were distant from the usual cliches, I hope I achieve it!

      Concerning the languages, you're definitely right!! HAHA!!
      You know, concerning foreign languages the problem is that in Italy there isn't a long "tradition" in the field, I guess. In school, teachers basically focus only on grammar and neglet vocabulary. Besides, they always give written exercises and never force the students to actually speak the language. The result is that the students remove all the concepts once they've done their tests :/ Another factor is that our TV doesn't share imported TV series in the original language…they always dub them!
      Things are slowly changing though, especially among the younger generations who understand and speak a decent English: all thanks to the Internet if you ask me.

      Yeah, I definitely want to focus more on my blog. Certain social media are cool, but there's nothing like a personal blog space ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, yes, dubbing! Major obstacle! What I’d do without English in movies and songs! And you’re right, newer generations are different on account of the internet. Do you know that when we first met (we got to know each other online, without camera or phone), amore was pronouncing English words in the Italian way? As they are spoken? He had never spoken English before. Or listened to it, for that matter. He learned it online in purely written form. The first few days were a bit awkward. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh God, I can bet it was a bit awkward! But it was great that he tried anyway, despite the fact that he had never spoken English before! Besides, this is the best way to learn: trying and making mistakes!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Very true. The only problem is that while his English is rapidly advancing, my Italian is not even basic – no matter that I must speak it to practically everybody except him… But it’s important that we build our primary language, the rest will follow.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Also, I really like your message at the top. “Travel to better, not to be cool” that reflects my own philosophy pretty well. If you wouldn’t mind, I would like to use that concept as a starting point for a post on my blog. I’d give you credit for sparking the idea, even though I doubt a link from me would garner you much traffic (if any), seeing as I’m new/small. Anyway, I just thought I’d ask since I have no clue what the customs are for this kind of thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s the entire point of travelling, isn’t it? I don’t like to consider the travel as a “status symbol”, I like to learn from different cultures and experiences.

      Yeah, generally the netiquette requires you to credit, it’s not only a question of traffic 🙂 I will appreciate the credit and I will gladly link back to your blog in the future 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

